Little Things of You

When the red lights in the street mean a dime to me,
but spending an hour with you means the world.
When being the life of the party is the death of me,
but seeing you smile is what motivates me to live each day.
When my desire for designer diminishes,
because the feel of your kisses is all I really want.
When being popular becomes a fleeting thought,
and it only matters if your my #1 fan.
When being in the presence of great musicians is a bore to me,
because the only good music I know,is the sound of your voice.
When the statue of David is only but a piece of rock,
as I lay my eyes upon the body that belongs to you, my lover.
Mona Lisa’s smile is only but a petty curve on a woman’s face,
as I see your face in slumber.
These small superficial things that the world deems fit to praise
do not compare to the sweet smell that envelopes me when we embrace.
So what I’m trying to tell you,
is that in the smallest of ways and in the biggest of words,
without my intention of putting my heart in your possession.
You mean everything to me.


Leave a comment